New Spin on Pancakes

After getting married, my husband discovered that I couldn’t cook.  In fact the only meal I knew how to cook for was breakfast.  Pancakes were my specialty and I would put anything and everything on them to add nutrition.  Now, these pancakes weren’t the crumbly, syrup absorbing pancakes we make these days.  These puppies bounced.  Like, you could almost swear they had some rubber coating that made them shine.  I really don’t know why, but I do know they were unique unto themselves and my family was “lucky” to have me make these special cakes.   I feel I must add that my grown children are now addicted to bread.  I’m pretty sure this is why.

One winter afternoon I figured on whipping up some of these stellar pancakes.  I’m thinking because I was  exhausted from chasing the kids around all day and I didn’t want to go to the store for the next shopping resupply.  I plopped a pile of flap jacks on the table, we all sat down, and said grace.   After finishing up our pancakes with peanut butter, bananas, syrup, whipped cream, and the like, I noticed there were quite a few pancakes left on the platter.

I really don’t know what came over me, except that I’m ADD and sometimes a little spontaneous.  Grabbing a stack of cakes, I ran across the kitchen and flung them like frisbees at the kids.  The kids let out a squeal as this was obviously permission to join in the fun.  Shawn jumped in as well since he couldn’t be beaned without retaliation.  We spent at least 15 minutes playing tag with our homemade bouncing bread until they started falling apart which was our cue to start picking up.  (We’d always find a pancake behind the couch a few days later.)

The kids really never minded having breakfast for dinner.  We enjoyed the silliness of the game and it was probably good for hand eye coordination.  Come to think of it, they picked up on frisbee golf quickly.

Frisbee Golf at Gifford Pinchot Park with our foreign exchange student,  Theo.
Frisbee Golf at Gifford Pinchot Park with our foreign exchange student, Theo.

Pancake Image:  Thank you to Lynne who has a wonderful blog at http://www.365daysofbakingandmore.com/banana-peanut-butter-chip-pancakes/.  She has great pancake recipes to give a try for your next breakfast-for-dinner night.  Bon appetite!

2 thoughts on “New Spin on Pancakes

Leave a Reply

